January 20th, 2011. Making progress w/boundaries and self-respect!


I am deciding to post because I am proud of myself again!  I feel like God is throwing these lessons in my life, and I am handling them appropriately.  So someone from ACOA (Adult Children of Alcoholics) just called me and was acting very strange… she was speaking in a dissociated voice.  She called, and she said, “Emily, it’s me ‘Jen’ from ACOA; I’m calling you from the hospital…”  Anyway, the next phrase out of her mouth was:  “I tried to commit suicide last night.”

I immediately detached, ie: stepped back emotionally right there and did not allow myself to get roped in. I had had a bad feeling about her before sensing that she was unstable.  She actually came into ACOA two weeks ago and didn’t know me and was telling me her life story and about how she’s “unsure” of her sexual identity now, etc.  At any rate, it was very strange, and I gave myself a mental note to step back and be cautious.  When she called me from the hospital it further confirmed my initial impression based off intuition.

She proceeded to tell me a sob story about how her “poor cat” is left at home without anyone to take care of it, etc. and asked me if I would go to her house and feed it!  I knew right then that I had to set a boundary, and so I offered to give her numbers of other member’s in the group.  I feel smart about this decision.  I do not want to get roped into her drama and who knows how long she would even be in the hospital!  So I declined passively I supposed because I didn’t exactly say “No,” but I directed her to other members.

At any rate, I am proud of myself for putting my foot down and not getting roped into this one.  This is the 3rd incident in the past week where I have learned to step back and set appropriate boundaries… more than anything, where I have been able to apply my “principles” or whatever you would call them!  Good work and progress for me!  I will keep journaling.

Leave a Reply

