My “lyme” disease/fibromyalgia symptoms – Going on 4 years now.


Emily’s Symptoms:

Note:  All symptoms started Fall 2007.  Most symptoms occur worse on the right lateral part of my body, but all symptoms are unilateral.  I am more inclined to notice symptoms while lying in bed at night and in the morning although they occur during the day and are noticeable, but I am trying to stay busy and function (very difficult).  I often stay home because I am so tired and ache (ear-node/jaw/back/neck/shoulder).

Color Coding:

Red-  Current and unrelenting
Black-  Past or single occurrence (Note:  Possibly latent)


Musculoskeleton System:

-Joint pain in hands/fingers (Occurs in both hands, though slightly more painful on the right side.  Was x-ray for arthritis twice  – both negative).
-Neck/shoulder pain (I will often wake up with EXTREME stiffness in my neck/shoulder area and my neck/shoulders will just randomly burn, especially at night)
-Weakness in limbs (This has occurred twice.  I was so weak I could not even get up, and I thought I might have to be admitted to the ER.  Also at this time I was sweating – DRENCHED profusely)
-Unexplained menstrual pain and irregularity

Neurologic System:

-Tingling in hands/feet/face (I thought maybe I had MS -Multiple Sclerosis because of the random “tingling” – The face has tingling & numbness around lips and jaw bone upon touch and considerably more noticeable in cold weather)
-Dizziness/increased motion sickness (Occurs every few days randomly)
-Headaches/Migraines (I get them a few times a year for a week straight)
-Fainting (I had my blood drawn and entirely blacked out)
-Vertigo (Two single occurrences)

Psychological Well-Being:

-Vivid dreams and nightmares (Fall 2008)
-Increased anxiety
-Difficulty falling asleep and insomnia
-Increased depression

Head, Face, & Neck:

-Lump in throat sensation (It will randomly feel like I have a golf ball or large-size piece of food stuck in my throat)
-Asymmetrical tonsil (On right side of mouth – Dr. states it looks and feels the “size of a grape”)
-Mouth sores (I get little canker sores — clear bubbles in my mouth at random times — usually a single or couple bubbles at once typically behind my front bottom lip)
-Facial flushing (MRI showed inflammation in cheeks)
-Random nose bleeds (Occur twice a year for a week-long stretch and will gush – Last time I went to the ER)
-Extreme dry mouth (Cotton mouth, and it doesn’t matter how much water I drink)

Eyes, Vision:

-“Tired” dry eyes and tear ducts (Eye doctor said that my tear ducts dry up every “2 seconds” instead of “13” seconds.  Additionally, my eyes have lost their “vitality,” ie: vivid/whiteness, and sometimes by the end of the night I look stoned.
-Oversensitivity to light (I now have to wear a hat with a visor all the time and sunglasses)
-Worsened vision (Blurry, worse at night. Developed astigmatism)

Ears/Hearing:

-Ear-node pain (Constant dull, aching pain behind ears – random times for intermittent hour-stretches of time – when it is really bad, it extends to the upper jaw, causing me to clench both my teeth/jaws and hands, then I get a headache, and then my upper back and neck start throbbing, knotting, and burning)
-Buzzing in ears (Occurs in 1 ear at a time and is known to occur in both ears, though it happens 75% more of the time in right ear)
-Oversensitivity to sound

Digestive:

-Bloating
-Diarrhea
-Constipation
-Unusual abdominal cramping (This has happened a couple times. I will get pain in my abdominal region when I am not on my period)

Respiratory/Circulatory System:

-Extreme sensitivity to heat and cold (When others are warm, I am uncomfortably hot and sweaty, and when others are comfortable, I am cold)
-Night sweats (Mostly occurred in 2008, but should not be ruled out because they occurred frequently)
-Cold hands, feet, and nose (Occurs in fall and winter and is out-of-proportion compared to the normal person)
-Hot and cold flashes (Occurs periodically often while laying in bed, or perhaps that’s when I notice it most like many of the other symptoms)

General Well-Being:

-Extreme fatigue (varies day-by-day and can strike out of nowhere)
-Unexplained weight changes (Extreme gain and loss — fluctuates between 118 and 136 lbs and changes in a very short periods of time)
-Enlarged neck/throat (lymph) glands (Especially when I work out, even minimally, ie: lifting dumbbells for a half hour)
-Foul-smelling boogers (Sounds strange, but is definitely something I have noticed since very early on when I became sick).
-Continual, re-occurring, slow healing infections (I get a lot in my fingers)
-Allergies/Sensitivities (I have developed an allergy to dust and developed food sensitivity to blackberries and some soy-made products)
-Random rashes (Allergies?  I have eaten the foods before and never developed a rash – now I am getting more rashes when I eat things.  The last rash was on my left kneecap, which did not subside with Benedryl “quick strip.”  The rash remained on my leg for 3 solid days and was triangle-shaped).

Other:

-Abnormal ANA titer 3x (Negative for rheumatoid factor, ie: scloderma, lupus, arthritis, etc.)
-Hypothyroidism (NOT Hashimoto’s)
-Unexplained hair loss (Every time I take a shower, more hair sheds than necessary)
-Dry hair (feels like straw)
-Brittle nails (they no longer grow)
-Dandruff (I have never had a problem with dandruff until now)

My symptoms have mocked: HIV, MS (Multiple Sclerosis), Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, Arthritis, Meniere’s disease, TMJ, Fibromyalgia, CFS (Chronic Fatigue Syndrome), Mono (Epstein-Barr), Mumps, Babesia, Sjogrens Syndrome, etc.

Leave a Reply

