Thoughts…


“I’m sorry I wasn’t ready to be your friend, but I’m ready now…”

By the way, someone from Lafayette keeps checking my blog every 1-2 days, sometimes a couple times a day.  Could it be… ?

Funny, right after I opened up a blank blog, 3 Doors Down’s “Here without you” song came on:


“Here Without You” – 3 Doors Down

A hundred days have made me older
Since the last time that I saw your pretty face
A thousand lies have made me colder
And I don’t think I can look at this the same
But all the miles that separate
Disappear now when I’m dreaming of your face

I’m here without you baby
But you’re still on my lonely mind
I think about you baby
And I dream about you all the time
I’m here without you baby
But you’re still with me in my dreams
And tonight it’s only you and me

The miles just keep rollin’
As the people leave their way to say hello
I’ve heard this life is overrated
But I hope that it gets better as we go

I’m here without you baby
But you’re still on my lonely mind
I think about you baby
And I dream about you all the time
I’m here without you baby
But you’re still with me in my dreams
And tonight girl its only you and me

Everything I know, and anywhere I go
It gets hard but it wont take away my love
And when the last one falls
When it’s all said and done
It gets hard but it wont take away my love

I’m here without you baby
But you’re still on my lonely mind
I think about you baby
And I dream about you all the time
I’m here without you baby
But you’re still with me in my dreams
And tonight girl its only you and me

“This song upsets me. Its really beautiful but it reminds me a friend that passed on. Maybe because we we’re listening to this song on the way to funeral.
I would assume that he has lost a lover/friend.. ”

“Well, I think this is a great love song. It’s about someone who has broken up with his boy/girlfriend, still loves him/her and misses him/her.”

“I think its about that person who (well I’d like to think of it this way) you broke up with either recently or a long time ago. And you later find out or realize that, that person means the whole world to you. Only this time its too dang late. Shes gone and shes so far away and all you can ever do is dream about her, and live for that moment that you will be together in your dreams. Its a sad song, a song of regrets maybe, but generally i think its a sad song.”

“To me, this song is from the point of view of someone that has been left. No matter how much time passes or what they may hear or come to know about the person, they can’t stop loving the one that hurt them.”

“It’s about being with somebody, but not being with them. And being completly in love with them, that you really find it hard to cope without them there.

“He is saying that in his dreams, it’s just him and her, and they can spend the time together, to pass it off as reality for now.”

“This song is about not seeing someone for a long time and you’re without them, you know? I definitely love this song! Haha, my favorite 3 doors down song. It’s such a great song!”

“I believe its about being on the road away from the one you love, and you miss her like hell, and he’s there without her as the song says out on the road(probably on tour) and he dreams about her thats his only way of seeing her for now, so he says that tonights its only him and her, meaning in his dreams, he will be dreaming and thinking of her nonstop and missing her until he sees her again.”

“This song is about being a long way away from the one you love the most. And every night, every day, and everything somehow reminds you of her (or him if you’re female). You can’t stop thinking about her and you know that you’ll see her in your dreams.”

“This song touched me so deeply the first time I heard it. I remember that the guy I cared a lot about at the time told me about it and sent me the lyrics and then I waited for over an hour to hear it on the radio. It was the one song I could ALWAYS listen to, even though it made me sad… and it was my favorite song ever for more than a year. Now I have difficulties listening to it because it brings back painful memories, but I still think it’s one of the most moving songs I’ve ever heard.”

“I love this song soo much, it reminds me of a couple that are far away from each other like maybe the guy being in the army or something and he really misses her and cant wait to be with her again.”

“Its not only about how he can’t live without her, but it’s about how she lied and pushed him away in the first place. He doesn’t want to be in love with her, but he still is.”

“I love this song, it was one of my first favorites and I am still listening to it to this day. Not only do the lyrics have a powerful loving, yet haunting kind of feel to them, the passion Brad puts into his singing really bring out the meaning and emotion in the song, and I love how the song starts off very simple and solemn, with only a guitar going, and slowly builds up the music as the story being told gets deeper and deeper. All with an excellent violin group and chorus in the background to back up the guitar when the song really picks up.

There are so many ways the song can be interpreted…a soldier who’s overseas and missing a loved one back home, a bad breakup, having to part ways with someone special who is now far away, maybe the death of a loved one.

This is what the song means to me, though.

“A hundred days have made me older
Since the last time that I saw your pretty face”

A hundred days have passed since the last time he saw the girl

“A thousand lies have made me colder
And I don’t think I can look at this the same”

Although they were together one time, she must have taken him for granted, because she lied a lot about some unknown issue that steadily drove them apart. He eventually built up an emotional wall to all her stories and lies, until he could not look at her and their relationship the way it once was. He doesn’t think they can be together anymore.

“All the miles that separate
Disappear now when I’m dreamin’ of your face”

He figured the only way they could settle their relationship was to end it, and he had to get as far away from her as possible to keep her off his mind. But now that he’s gone, no matter how far and long he drifts away from her, nothing, not even “All the miles that separate” can help ease his pain, and now that he’s thinking of her, it’s almost like they hadn’t been apart at all, and he’s with her again in his heart.

“I’m here without you baby
But you’re still on my lonely mind”

He’s done what he wanted to, and now he’s distanced himself. But, it’s done no good, because he still can’t stop thinking about her and what they used to have.

“I think about you baby and I dream about you all the time
I’m here without you baby
But you’re still with me in my dreams
And tonight, there’s only you and me”

He can’t keep his mind off her, and although they aren’t together, he still is haunted by romatic dreams of their old life and love together, even forsaking all the hurt she put him through. He relishes these dreams, because they offer him a simple way to escape his hurt and be with her alone, all the drama and complications of the rest of the real world gone.

“The miles just keep rollin’
As the people leave their way to say hello”

Thinking that putting more distance between them will help solve his problems, he continues to roll on, each new place offering no less comfort than the last. No idea what the second line “As the people leave their way to say hello” means, though.

“I’ve heard this life is overrated
But I hope that it gets better as we go.”

People have told him that living this life of denial and running away from your problems doesn’t solve your problems, and that is literally and figuratively all he is doing, just running from his problems. The reasons he has decided to move away still are there, and running won’t make them go away. He hopes that he will be able to start over and live a better life nonetheless.

“Everything I know, and anywhere I go
It gets hard but it won’t take away my love
And when the last one falls, when it’s all said and done.
It gets hard but it won’t take away my love”

This is where the song gets very emotional and vibrant.
Deep inside of him, he forgives her and still truly loves her, but the fact still remains that he can’t be with her because of what happened between them. He starts to realize that no matter what he does, and where he goes, he can’t escape the thoughts he has of her and the place she has in his heart, broken as it may be. And after “it’s all said and done”, that place she holds will never fade or be forgotten because of his love. I love the way the violins continue to play and fade into the background as the song ends, instead of ending abruptly, it’s like they are continuing his message that his love will live on.”

Leave a Reply

